HOME > About South Sudan > Profile of South Sudan
South Sudan At a Glance
2023-02-07 00:20

Official Name: Republic of South Sudan

Independence Day: 9 July 2011

Capital City: Juba

Time Zone: GMT+2

Official Language: English

Currency: South Sudan Pound (SSP)

Population: 14 million (2021)

Constitution: Transitional Constitution of South Sudan (2011)

States: The Republic of South Sudan now has 10 states and 3 administrative areas, including Central Equatoria (Juba), Western Equatoria (Yambio), Eastern Equatoria, (Torit), Jonglei (Bor), Unity (Bentiu), Upper Nile (Malakal), Lakes (Rumbek), Warrap (Kuajok), Western Bahr el Ghazal (Wau), and Northern Bahr el Ghazal (Aweil), as well as Abyei Administrative Area, Greater Pibor Administrative Area and Ruweng  Administrative Area.

(Updated in February 2023)